Leadership + Governance

Steering committees for each of the AMP projects, with representation from the partners participating in those projects, meet regularly to review ongoing progress and milestones. The AMP program and its project steering committees are managed by the FNIH under the direction of an AMP Executive Committee comprised of representatives from NIH as well as select industry and non-profit organization leaders.

Executive Committee

The AMP Executive Committee is responsible for program-wide oversight and strategy, as well as the development and approval of new AMP project concepts. It is co-chaired by the NIH Director and a senior R&D representative from the pharmaceutical industry and includes the Director of the lead NIH Institute or Center for each active AMP project and select representatives from private sector partners.

  • Lawrence A. Tabak, DDS, PhD

    Performing the Duties of the NIH Director (Co-chair)

  • Mikael Dolsten, MD, PhD

    Chief Scientific Officer and President, Worldwide Research, Development and Medical, Pfizer (Co-chair)

  • Houman Ashrafian, DPhil

    Executive Vice President and Head of Research and Development, Sanofi

  • Lindsey Criswell, MD, MPH, DSc

    Director, National Institute on Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases

  • Gary Gibbons, MD

    Director, National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute

  • Richard Hodes, MD

    Director, National Institute on Aging

  • Joshua Gordon, MD, PhD

    Director, National Institute on Mental Health

  • William Hait, MD, Ph.D

    Executive Vice President, Chief External Innovation and Medical Safety Officer; Interim Head, Janssen R&D

  • Walter Koroshetz, MD

    Director, National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Strokes

  • Griffin Rodgers, MD, MACP

    Director, National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases

  • Joni Rutter, PhD

    Director, National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences

  • Sharon Terry, MA

    President and CEO, Genetic Alliance

Extended Executive Committee

The AMP Extended Executive Committee is comprised of representatives from each organization supporting one or more active AMP projects and receives scientific updates from the entire AMP project portfolio twice a year.

Program Support

The AMP Executive Committees and project steering committees are managed by staff in the Research Partnerships department at the FNIH.

AMP Director
  • James O'Leary, MBA

    Director, Inflammation and Immunity

AMP Project Leads
  • Sri Ramulu Pullagura, PhD

    Program Manager, Neuroscience – AMP PD

  • Brad Garrison, MBA, PMP

    Senior Project Manager, Platform Therapeutics – AMP BGTC

  • Loni Ajagbe, MHS

    Project Manager, Neuroscience – AMP SCZ

  • Jennifer Taylor

    Project Manager, Metabolic Disorders – AMP HF

  • Rachel Fischer, PhD

    Project Manager, Metabolic Disorders – AMP CMD

  • Jeremy DeBarry, PhD

    Senior Project Manager, Inflammation and Immunity – AMP AIM

  • Francesca Cignarella, PhD

    Project Manager, Neuroscience – AMP AD

Program Principles


View AMP Projects