Governance and Resources

The goal of the Accelerating Medicines Partnership® Program is to improve our understanding of disease pathways and facilitate better selection of targets for treatment.


Steering committees for each of the disease areas, with representation from the partners participating in those projects, meet regularly to review ongoing progress and milestones. The steering committees are managed by the FNIH under the direction of an AMP Executive Committee comprised of representatives from NIH, participating industry leaders, FDA and non-profit organizations.

AMP Executive Committee

  • Lawrence A. Tabak, D.D.S, Ph.D., Acting Director, National Institutes of Health (Co-chair)
  • Mikael Dolsten, M.D., Ph.D., Chief Scientific Officer and President, Worldwide Research, Development and Medical, Pfizer (Co-chair)
  • Lindsey Criswell, M.D., M.P.H., D.Sc, Director, National Institute on Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases
  • Joshua Gordon, M.D., Ph.D., Director, National Institute on Mental Health
  • Richard Hodes, M.D., Director, National Institute on Aging
  • Walter Koroshetz, M.D., Director, National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Strokes
  • John Reed, M.D., Ph.D., Executive Vice President, Global Head of Research and Development, Sanofi
  • Griffin Rodgers, M.D., M.A.C.P., Director, National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases
  • Sharon Terry, MA, President and CEO, Genetic Alliance

Extended Executive Committee

  • William Hait, M.D., Ph.D., Global Head, Johnson & Johnson External Innovation
  • Mary Beth Harler, M.D., Senior Vice President, Head, Immunology & Fibrosis Development, Global Development Division, BMS
  • Thomas Hudson, OC., M.D., Senior Vice President Research & Development and Chief Scientific Officer, Abbvie
  • John Lepore, M.D., Senior Vice President, Research & Development Pipeline, GSK
  • William Marks, M.D., MS, Head of Clinical Sciences and Head of Neurology, Verily Life Sciences
  • Joseph Miletich, M.D., Ph.D., Senior Vice President Research & Development, Merck
  • Rich Moscicki, M.D., Executive Vice President Science Regulatory Advocacy and Chief Medical Officer, PhRMA
  • Laura Rosen, M.D., Ph.D., Vice President of Neurological Translational Medicine, Takeda
  • Dan Skovronsky, M.D., Ph.D., Chief Scientific Officer, Eli Lilly and Company
  • Rupert Vessey, MA, BM, B.Ch., F.R.C.P., D.Phil., President of Research, Early Development, BMS
  • Robert M. Califf, M.D., MACC, FDA Commissioner


Nature Reviews Drug Discovery (February 27, 2019): Massive NIH-industry project opens portals to target validation


ACCELERATING MEDICINES PARTNERSHIP and AMP are registered service marks of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.