2015 FNIH Award Ceremony

2015 FNIH Award Ceremony — May 20, 2015


2015 Lurie Prize Save the Date

BETHESDA, MD, February 4, 2015 – On Wednesday, May 20, the Foundation for the National Institutes of Health (FNIH) will bring together leaders from biomedical science, the biotech and pharmaceutical industries, philanthropy and business, for the 2015 FNIH Award Ceremony and presentation of the Lurie Prize in Biomedical Sciences.

Karl Deisseroth, 2015 Lurie Prize in Biomedical Sciences winner

This year’s ceremony and dinner will be held on the Potomac View Terrace of the American Pharmacists Association (APhA) building, with panoramic views of U.S. Capitol, Lincoln Memorial, Washington Monument and the National Mall.

The Lurie Prize, which is sponsored by philanthropist and FNIH Board member Ann Lurie, recognizes outstanding achievement by a promising scientist age 52 or younger, and includes a $100,000 honorarium.

The 2015 Lurie Prize will be awarded to Karl Deisseroth, M.D., Ph.D., the D.H. Chen Professor of Bioengineering and of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at Stanford University and a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator. Dr. Deisseroth is being recognized for leading the development of optogenetics, a technology for controlling cells with light to determine function, as well as for CLARITY, a method for transforming intact organs into transparent polymer gels to allow visualization of biological structures with high resolution and detail.

Click here for the 2015 Lurie Prize Winner, Karl Deisseroth press release >>

The previous Lurie Prize winners are Jennifer Doudna, Ph.D., from the University of California Berkeley (2014) and Ruslan M. Medzhitov, Ph.D., of Yale University (2013).

The 2015 FNIH Award Ceremony Chair is Nina Solarz; Ms. Lurie is serving as Honorary Chair.

The FNIH would be honored with your purchase of a table or individual tickets. For more information on tickets or for details about sponsorship opportunities, please click here >>.

Back To News