2017 FNIH Award Ceremony

On Wednesday, May 17, 2017 thought leaders from the National Institutes of Health, pioneers in biomedical science, the biotech and pharmaceutical industries, philanthropists and business executives will convene at the Organization of American States in Washington, D.C. for the fifth annual Foundation for the National Institutes of Health (FNIH) Award Ceremony and presentation of the Lurie Prize in Biomedical Sciences. This $100,000 award, made possible by a generous gift from FNIH Board member Ann Lurie, recognizes outstanding achievement by a promising young scientist in biomedical research. The recipient is selected by a jury consisting of six distinguished biomedical researchers and chaired by Dr. Solomon H. Snyder, Distinguished Service Professor of Neuroscience, Pharmacology & Psychiatry, Solomon H. Snyder Department of Neuroscience at Johns Hopkins University and Vice Chairman for Science of the FNIH.

Wolf BlitzerThe evening’s Master of Ceremonies is award-winning journalist and television news anchor Wolf Blitzer. Mr. Blitzer is CNN's lead political anchor and the anchor of The Situation Room with Wolf Blitzer, which provides viewers with in-depth reports about the political, international and breaking news stories of the day. In addition, Mr. Blitzer anchors Wolf, which focuses on important news from Washington and around the world.

2017 Sponsors Include


Sponsorship and Ticket Information

Join the list of sponsors for the 2017 Award Ceremony today. Review Sponsorship Opportunities and the Sponsorship Form. For information and to become a sponsor, please contact development@fnih.org. Learn how to buy tickets by clicking the link below. 

2017 Prize Winner

David M. Sabatini, M.D., Ph.D.David M. Sabatini, M.D., Ph.D.
Member of the Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research
Professor of Biology at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Learn about Dr. Sabatini in this press release and this recent Biocentury Innovations article.

Former Prize Winners

Jeannie T. Lee, M.D., Ph.D.
Molecular Biologist at Massachusetts General Hospital and Professor of Genetics at Harvard Medical School

Introduction to Dr. Lee's Science

Karl Deisseroth, M.D., Ph.D2015:
Karl Deisseroth, M.D., Ph.D.
D.H. Chen Professor of Bioengineering and of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at Stanford University

Introduction to Dr. Deisseroth's Science

Jennifer Doudna, Ph.D.2014:
Jennifer Doudna, Ph.D.
Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology at the University of California, Berkeley

Introduction to Dr. Doudna's Science

Ruslan M. Medzhitov, Ph.D.2013:
Ruslan M. Medzhitov, Ph.D.
David W. Wallace Professor of Immunobiology at Yale University School of Medicine

Introduction to Dr. Medzhitov's Science

2016 Sponsors:

Alexandria Real Estate Equities, Inc.
AdvaMed - Advanced Medical Technology Association
Amgen, Inc.
Bristol-Myers Squibb Company
Buffy Cafritz
Cleary Gottlieb
James H. Donovan
Foundation for Advanced Education in the Sciences
Janssen Research & Development, LLC
Kovler Foundation: Judy and Peter Kovler
Sachiko Kuno Foundation
Eli Lilly and Company
Ann Lurie
Omega World Travel Inc.
Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP
Pfizer Inc
RaNA Therapeutics
The Honorable Stanley O. Roth
Dame Jillian Sackler
Charles A. Sanders, M.D. and Ann E. Sanders
Solomon H. Snyder, M.D.
Nina K. Solarz
Takeda Pharmaceuticals International, Inc..
Samuel O. Thier, M.D.
UCB, Inc.

Related Resources:

About Ann Lurie

Lurie Prize in Biomedical Sciences

Lurie Prize in Biomedical Sciences Recipients

Photos from the 2016 Award Ceremony