FNIH Award Ceremony

FNIH Award Ceremony
Featuring the Lurie Prize in Biomedical Sciences

On Wednesday, May 16, 2018, thought leaders from the National Institutes of Health, pioneers in biomedical science, the biotech and pharmaceutical industries, philanthropists and business executives convened at the Organization of American States in Washington, D.C. for the sixth annual Foundation for the National Institutes of Health (FNIH) Award Ceremony and presentation of the Lurie Prize in Biomedical Sciences. This $100,000 award, made possible by a generous gift from philanthropist Ann Lurie, recognizes outstanding achievement by a promising young scientist in biomedical research. Learn more about the Lurie Prize here.

Wolf BlitzerThe evening’s master of ceremonies was award-winning journalist and television news anchor Wolf Blitzer. Mr. Blitzer is CNN's lead political anchor and the anchor of The Situation Room with Wolf Blitzer, which provides viewers with in-depth reports about the political, international and breaking news stories of the day. In addition, Mr. Blitzer anchors Wolf, which focuses on important news from Washington and around the world.

View photos from the 2018 FNIH Award Ceremony.

2018 Prize Recipient

Zhijian “James” Chen, Ph.D.Zhijian “James” Chen, Ph.D.
Professor of Molecular Biology at University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
George L. MacGregor Distinguished Chair in Biomedical Science
Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Member of the National Academy of Sciences

Former Lurie Prize Recipients

For more information about the former recipients and their science, click here.

2017: David M. Sabatini, M.D., Ph.D.
Member of the Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research; Professor of Biology, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

2016: Jeannie T. Lee, M.D., Ph.D.
Molecular Biologist at Massachusetts General Hospital; Professor of Genetics, Harvard Medical School

2015: Karl Deisseroth, M.D., Ph.D.
D.H. Chen Professor of Bioengineering and of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Stanford University

2014: Jennifer Doudna, Ph.D.
Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology, University of California, Berkeley

2013: Ruslan M. Medzhitov, Ph.D.
David W. Wallace Professor of Immunobiology, Yale University School of Medicine


For information, please contact development@fnih.org.