Lurie Prize in Biomedical Sciences

Lurie Prize Overview

David M. Sabatini, M.D., Ph.D.In 2017, the Foundation for the National Institutes of Health (FNIH) presented the fifth annual Lurie Prize in Biomedical Sciences to David M. Sabatini, M.D., Ph.D., Member of the Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research, a Professor of Biology at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and an Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute. Dr. Sabatini identified the mTOR (mechanistic target of rapamycin) cellular pathway as a key regulator of growth and metabolism in response to nutrients and its impact on age-related diseases. Read more in this press release.

Lurie Prize

The $100,000 award recognizes outstanding achievement by a promising young scientist in biomedical research and is made possible by a generous gift from philanthropist Ann Lurie. Dr. Sabatini was selected by a jury of six distinguished biomedical researchers, chaired by Solomon H. Snyder, M.D., Distinguished Service Professor of Neuroscience, Pharmacology & Psychiatry, The Solomon H. Snyder Department of Neuroscience, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine and Vice Chairman for Science of the FNIH.

The award was presented at the FNIH Award Ceremony, hosted by CNN’s Wolf Blitzer, on Wednesday, May 17, 2017 in Washington D.C. To learn more, visit

Former Prize Winners

Jeannie T. Lee, M.D., Ph.D.
Molecular Biologist at Massachusetts General Hospital and Professor of Genetics at Harvard Medical School

Introduction to Dr. Lee's Science

Karl Deisseroth, M.D., Ph.D2015:
Karl Deisseroth, M.D., Ph.D.
D.H. Chen Professor of Bioengineering and of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at Stanford University

Introduction to Dr. Deisseroth's Science

Jennifer Doudna, Ph.D.2014:
Jennifer Doudna, Ph.D.
Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology at the University of California, Berkeley

Introduction to Dr. Doudna's Science

Ruslan M. Medzhitov, Ph.D.2013:
Ruslan M. Medzhitov, Ph.D.
David W. Wallace Professor of Immunobiology at Yale University School of Medicine

Introduction to Dr. Medzhitov's Science




About Ann Lurie

A full biography and description of Ann Lurie’s philanthropic philosophy and accomplishments can be found at