Current Lectures Awards & Events

Beyond research and training programs, the FNIH supports and organizes symposia and educational events to promote innovative thinking as well as to develop a broader public understanding of biomedical science. 

Programs are displayed in alphabetical order by title.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z |

No results found

The 2016 Alzheimer’s Disease-Related Dementias (ADRD) Summit will be hosted by the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) in collaboration with the National Institute on Aging (NIA) and held March 29-30, 2016 at the Natcher Auditorium on the NIH Campus.

On Wednesday, May 17, 2017 thought leaders from the NIH, pioneers in biomedical science, the biotech and pharmaceutical industries, philanthropists and business executives will convene in Washington, D.C. for the fifth annual FNIH Award Ceremony and presentation of the Lurie Prize in Biomedical Sciences. This $100,000 award, made possible by a generous gift from FNIH Board member Ann Lurie, recognizes outstanding achievement by a promising young scientist in biomedical research.

Celebrating the 30th Anniversary of the National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR), the Advancing Science, Improving Lives symposia and scholarly events will bring together scientists, healthcare professionals and members of the public to discuss the advancements in nursing science that build the foundation of clinical nursing practice.

In honor of its former Chairman of the Board, the FNIH celebrates its partners through the Charles A. Sanders, M.D., Partnership Award. In keeping with Dr.

Under Dr. Charles A. Sanders’ visionary leadership, the FNIH has influenced the course of biology and medicine over the past 20 years. At the Charles A. Sanders, M.D., Scientific Symposium, hear from scientific leaders, including Lurie Prize in Biomedical Sciences awardees, to learn more about the latest pioneering biomedical research.

Cognitive Aging Summit III will bring together experts in a variety of research fields to discuss the most cutting edge advances in our understanding of age-related brain and cognitive changes, with a particular focus on resilience and reserve. 

The Dr. Anita Roberts Memorial Fund awards travel scholarships for graduate students and post-doctoral fellows to present their work at a national meeting in honor of Dr. Anita Roberts.

Go4Life is a signature public health campaign by the National Institute on Aging (NIA) to encourage older adults to get active and stay active.

The Dr. John Laws Decker Memorial Lecture was created to recognize Dr. John Laws Decker as an outstanding teacher who strived to connect scientific communications around the world in an effort to accelerate important research.

In 2017, the Foundation for the National Institutes of Health (FNIH) will present the fifth annual Lurie Prize in Biomedical Sciences, a $100,000 award recognizing outstanding achievement by a promising young scientist in biomedical research.

The FNIH and the NIH Virology Interest Group host the annual Norman P. Salzman Memorial Symposium and Award in Virology. The award is presented to an outstanding Postdoctoral Fellow, Research Fellow, or Clinical Fellow working in the field of virology within the intramural NIH, Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research or Leidos community.

Reducing the incidence of malaria has been a public health priority for nearly a century.  New technologies and associated vector control strategies play an important role in the prospect of sustained reductions.  The development of new gene editing systems such as CRISPR/Cas9 has generated new possibilities for the use of gene drive constructs to reduce or alter vector populations in order to reduce malaria incidence.

The Robert Whitney Newcomb Memorial Lecture and Internship was established by the family of Dr. Newcomb, who began his scientific career at NIH as a high school summer intern in a laboratory at the National Cancer Institute.

The Sayer Vision Research Fund, in collaboration with the National Eye Institute, supports an annual presentation delivered by an investigator conducting outstanding research in the area of vision research or related fields.

The Stephen E. Straus Distinguished Lecture in the Science of Complementary Health Therapies was established in 2006 with a generous gift from Bernard and Barbro Osher.

The Dr. Franklin A. Neva Memorial Fund honors the legacy of Franklin A. Neva, M.D., a renowned virologist, parasitologist, clinician and former director of the Laboratory of Parasitic Diseases (LPD) at the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID).

FNIH assists the Vaccine Research Center by supporting the Community Advisory Board's (CAB's) scientific monthly meetings and participation in annual conferences by CAB members.