FNIH Award Ceremony

2020 FNIH Award Ceremony

Given the current situation with the COVID-19 pandemic, the 2020 FNIH Award Ceremony and presentation of the eighth annual Lurie Prize in Biomedical Sciences has been postponed. The event was originally scheduled for May 20, 2020 in Washington, D.C. Please stay tuned as more information will be available soon.

The event features the Lurie Prize in Biomedical Sciences, a $100,000 award that recognizes outstanding achievement by a promising young scientist in biomedical research. The prize is made possible by a generous gift from philanthropist Ann Lurie. 

More information for sponsors and attendees will be available soon.

     Click here for sponsorship and ticket information     



Dr. Maria Freire, Dr. Yasmine Belkaid and Ms. Ann Lurie at the 2019 FNIH Award Ceremony.
NIH Director Dr. Francis Collins interviews Lurie Prize Recipient Dr. Yasmine Belkaid
at the 2019 FNIH Award Ceremony.
NIAID Director, Dr. Anthony Fauci, speaks at the 2019 FNIH Award Ceremony.
Lurie Prize Recipient, Dr. Yasmine Belkaid gives a speech at the 2019 FNIH Award Ceremony.
2019 FNIH Award Ceremony reception at the National Museum of Women in the Arts.


Learn more about the Lurie Prize here.

Former Lurie Prize Recipients

For more information about the former recipients and their science, click here.

2019: Yasmine Belkaid, Ph.D.
Director of the Microbiome Program Chief of the Metaorganism Immunity Section in the Laboratory of Immune System Biology at the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID); Adjunct Professor at the University of Pennsylvania

2018: Zhijian “James” Chen, Ph.D.
Professor of Molecular Biology at University Southwestern Medical Center; George L. MacGregor Distinguished Chair in Biomedical Science; Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute; Member of the National Academy of Sciences

2017: David M. Sabatini, M.D., Ph.D.
Member of the Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research; Professor of Biology, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

2016: Jeannie T. Lee, M.D., Ph.D.
Molecular Biologist at Massachusetts General Hospital; Professor of Genetics, Harvard Medical School

2015: Karl Deisseroth, M.D., Ph.D.
D.H. Chen Professor of Bioengineering and of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Stanford University

2014: Jennifer Doudna, Ph.D.
Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology, University of California, Berkeley

2013: Ruslan M. Medzhitov, Ph.D.
David W. Wallace Professor of Immunobiology, Yale University School of Medicine

FNIH Contacts

For organizations, please contact development@fnih.org

For individuals, please contact advancement@fnih.org