Lurie Prize in Biomedical Sciences

Lurie Prize Overview

In 2019, the Foundation for the National Institutes of Health (FNIH) will present the seventh annual Lurie Prize in Biomedical Sciences, a $100,000 award recognizing outstanding achievement by a promising young scientist in biomedical research. The Prize is made possible by a generous gift from philanthropist Ann Lurie.

The awardee will be selected by a jury of six distinguished biomedical researchers, chaired by Solomon H. Snyder, M.D., Distinguished Service Professor of Neuroscience, Pharmacology & Psychiatry, The Solomon H. Snyder Department of Neuroscience, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine.

The Award will be presented at the FNIH Award Ceremony on Wednesday, May 22, 2019 in Washington, D.C.

2019 Prize Nominations

The deadline for submitting nominations for the 2019 Lurie Prize has passed. The FNIH will announce the recipient of the prize in the spring of 2019.

New York Academy of Sciences (NYAS) - Expert Talk

With 2018 Lurie Prize recipient, Dr. Zhijian "James" Chen

The FNIH Partnered with the NYAS to create an Expert Talk given by Dr. Chen for high school students in the Academy's Junior Academy program. Dr. Chen shared stories and experiences about becoming a scientist, who his mentors were, why pursuing a career in STEM is vital in today's world and about his research.

Watch the Expert Talk here.

2018 Recipient

Read more about the former Lurie Prize recipients here.

2018: Zhijian “James” Chen, Ph.D.,
Professor of Molecular Biology at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, George L. MacGregor Distinguished Chair in Biomedical Science

  Former Prize Recipients

2017: David M. Sabatini, M.D., Ph.D.
Member of the Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research; Professor of Biology,
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

2016: Jeannie T. Lee, M.D., Ph.D.
Molecular Biologist at Massachusetts General Hospital; Professor of Genetics,
Harvard Medical School

2015: Karl Deisseroth, M.D., Ph.D.
D.H. Chen Professor of Bioengineering and of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences,
Stanford University

2014: Jennifer Doudna, Ph.D.
Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology,
University of California, Berkeley

2013: Ruslan M. Medzhitov, Ph.D.
David W. Wallace Professor of Immunobiology,
Yale University School of Medicine

About Ann Lurie

A full biography and description of Ann Lurie’s philanthropic philosophy and accomplishments can be found at

FNIH Contact